Oven Lovin’

I have a slight obsession with bread.

In the grocery store, I walk past the bakery section with longing eyes and a rumbling stomach. I could eat bread 24/7. At breakfast, mid-morning snack, lunch, you get the picture.

But as I try to balance my diet and eat healthily, I know that eating bread as a snack isn’t the best thing to do. So I limit myself. If I have a grain in the morning, I try to eliminate it from either lunch or dinner. As a result, a loaf of bread has lasted me a month. But with the Grilled Cheese Challenge I get to rediscover my bread obsession. In moderation of course.

And nothing tastes better than homemade bread. The work and love that gets kneaded into the dough must work some magic on my taste buds. If you have pieces of time throughout the day, making bread isn’t as high maintenance as it might seem.

Saturday morning I made my dough and let it rise while I went for my run.

Honey gives it a little sweetness

When I was back and stretched and hydrated, I was able to move it to its pan to rest and rise some more while I did homework.

Doesn’t it look delicious already?

And then popping it in the oven was maybe the easiest part of the whole process.

Half an hour later my apartment was filled with aromatic smells and one loaf of freshly baked bread.

And my grilled cheese never tasted better.

Sandwich Bread With Flax

adapted from King Arthur Flour

  • 1 cup lukewarm water
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 2 1/2 cups All-Purpose Flour
  • 1/2 cup ground flax meal
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons instant yeast

Add the yeast to the water in a large bowl. Let sit until bubble start to form. Add rest of ingredients and combine.. Knead several times until sticky and stretched. Place in an oiled boil, cover with a cloth and let rise 30-60 minutes or until doubled/tripled in size.

Transfer to a greased loaf pan, tent with plastic wrap and let rise 35-60 minutes or until 3/4″ above pan lip.

Towards end of rising time, preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Bake 30-35 minutes or until golden brown. Turn out of pan onto rack to cool. Let cool slightly (if you can’t resist) or completely before slicing.

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

One response to “Oven Lovin’

  1. Holly

    I wanted to make bread the other day and I thought of you 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
