Ooey Goey Pumpkin Bars

Somehow I always end up baking at night.

I don’t know how it happens but it does. 9:00 rolls around, and I feel the urge to bake. (okay so 9:00 isn’t too late for a college student but I go to bed relatively early so work with me here).

This is how we store our pumpkin, thank heavens for tupperware.

Last night I was coming back from a networking event, and it dawned on me that I should make pumpkin chocolate chip cookie bars. I thought I was on a break from pumpkin for awhile because the other night I overdosed on pumpkin oatmeal cakes but apparently not. It probably doesn’t help that cookie bars are a serious weakness of mine, and it is fall so pumpkin is a must. And we all know chocolate chips are like crack.

I promptly came back to my apartment and started baking, in my business casual clothes and all. It was urgent.

And I made these bars. Delicious. They’re ooey gooey and soft in the middle from the texture of the pumpkin but just enough of the cookie texture to be called a cookie bar.

Best. Idea. Ever.

I ate a lot of these last night. Oops.

P.S. My parents are visiting me this weekend. yay for family!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

2 cups flour

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 stick butter

1 tsp baking soda

3/4 t salt

1 flax egg (1 T ground flax mixed with 2 T warm water) *

1 cup canned pumpkin

3/4 cup chocolate chips

* I used a flax egg because I didn’t have any eggs on hand but you could absolutely¬†substitute¬†1 regular egg.

Preheat oven to 350 degree F and grease a 9×13 baking pan.

Mix dry ingredients. Cream in butter. Add the flax egg and stir well. Add the pumpkin and mix well. Fold in chocolate chips.

Pour into pan and bake 35-40 minutes until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
