Weird Foods I Eat Part 1

It’s been awhile since I last posted a really good recipe

Reasons why:

1) The Grilled Cheese Challenge, while delicious, limits the number of meals where I actually eat something different.

2) I’ve been to a lot of networking events where there is food. Plus my parents were just in town, and we went out to eat because I’m going to cook for them in my dorm kitchen. Not.

3)Between the pork and turkey meatballs, and butternut squash among other things, I have a lot of meals I already made and froze.

So while this is very sad news, I promise I will have more delicious recipes in the future. But remember I am only one person, no matter how much I like food. 😉

Now to the main point of this post.

While I haven’t been making a lot of meals, sometimes I make weird things that are technically snacks. They’re usually pretty simple and don’t take much time at all so I don’t always think to post them. Also, you would probably wonder why in the world I thought to make this and does it taste good?

But I am going to share anyway.

Tossed in cinnamon sugar, pre-oven

This past weekend, one of my roommates made an apple pie. And she had tons of apple peelings left. While we were snacking on them, I had a sudden brainstorm that they could be amazing if they were roasted (insert appropriate technical term) in the oven for just a little. So later that evening I tried it. I tossed the peels in cinnamon and sugar and let them cook at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes until drier than before. (Just keep an eye on them, burnt apple peels are even more weird.)

post-oven

While they were good, I think they would be better if I could get them to dry out more.

I was just being impatient.

And maybe not that weird. But unusual? random? I let you choose.

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
