Lots and lots of applesauce

So I promised I would share my plans for those apples I picked right?

It’s nothing profound, so don’t get too excited but I think homemade applesauce is something pretty special.

When I was younger, it would always be such a treat to smell the sweet smell of cinnamon and apples cooking together in the crock pot. I also thought that it was something that took a lot of effort to make.

Wrong.

Unless you count peeling apples but that isn’t too bad. Especially if you nibble at the peels. (Yes, I’m weird, we’ve established that. 🙂 )

When I got back from apple-picking on Saturday, I texted my mom for her recipe because what’s the point if I’m not going to make the applesauce that I remember. But in reality, it’s probably the same as any other slow cooker applesauce recipe out there. We’ll just pretend it’s different.

And Sunday morning, I enjoyed this delicious treat that was both sweet and warm and delicious.

Now go buy some apples and make this.

Homemade Slow Cooker Applesauce

8 apples, peeled, cored and chopped (about 6 cups)

1 t cinnamon

1/2 cup water

1/2 to 1 cup of sugar depending on how sweet your apples are. (Also you can do a mix of white and brown sugar for some flavor depth)

Combine in crock pot. Cook for 3-4 hrs on high or 8-10 on low.

When done, mash some of the apples with a potato masher or spoon but be sure to leave some chunks of apples.

Enjoy!

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

2 responses to “Lots and lots of applesauce

  1. Pingback: How to make a mess without even trying « Foodnook

  2. Pingback: Apples and Pumpkins « Foodnook

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
