More than worth the effort

Yesterday was busy with silly little things.

You know the kind. The things that you have to do, but don’t really want to. Like going to store to only pick up a box of tissues, or cleaning up. Things that take up some time but you have so many that they add up.

Those days call for an easy dinner that looks like you spent hours. It makes it looks like you put in tons of effort when you actually didn’t. Save the effort for other things. Like dessert, or catching up on television.

So I have a solution:

  • Broccoli and Butternut Squash Pasta

This was my dinner last night, and will probably get me through the end of the week. (p.s. I’m going home then for a couple days  yay!)

I’m having a current love affair with broccoli and am putting it in everything I make. This dish, couscous, with hummus, just eating it plain, I’m obsessed. Good thing it’s good for me!

And then I can have some chocolate covered pretzels for a night-time snack.

So take a break, and have this for dinner.

Roasted Squash and Broccoli Baked Pasta

Makes 2-3 servings

1 crown of broccoli, chopped up

1 cups roasted squash (yes I know this takes time but if you can roast some a couple days before you make this, you’re golden)

1/2 c – 3/4 c ricotta cheese

2 1/2 c Farfelle pasta

3/4 jar of pasta sauce

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Prepare pasta according to instructions. Steam broccoli in 1/8 c water in a saute pan.

When pasta and broccoli are cooked. layer broccoli, squash, pasta, and clumps of cheese in a baking pan. Over each layer (or sporadically) spoon sauce over ingredients.

Bake for 20 minutes. Sprinkle Parmesan cheese over top and bake for additional 5.

Enjoy!

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

2 responses to “More than worth the effort

  1. Tim

    Yum. That really looks good.

  2. Pingback: Squashy Week and Race Prep « Foodnook

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
