Trying new things: balsamic tofu with roasted veggies

I’m a little embarrassed to admit that I’ve never had tofu before. For someone who tries to eat healthy things and experiment with different foods, this might be an issue.

I saw delicious recipes for it all the time like here and here but couldn’t bring myself to try it. Probably because it was a weird food my dad thought was good when I was in middle/high school, you know the age when you want nothing to do with what your dad’s doing (or in this case, eating). Or maybe that was just me.

Anyway, I finally tried tofu. Last night was the trial night. I marinated it throughout the day in a balsamic dressing with garlic, oregano, and dried basil, and then broiled it in my tiny oven for about 12 minutes total.

Tossed with some roasted vegetables, it was a keeper. I’ll definitely go for the extra firm next time though, some of my tofu crumbled a little after being pressed and marinated.

Oh and this cauliflower? It’s simply roasted and for a girl who likes her veggies crispy, it’s perfect. The carrots were a little late to the party (because I forgot to add them in till later) but still turned out well.

But take my word for it, and try some tofu. It’s mainly a texture because it can taste like whatever you like the best.

Balsamic Tofu and Roasted Vegetables

1 package tofu, drained and pressed

1/2 cup balsamic dressing (or vinegar)

1 tsp oregano, garlic powder, and dried basil

1 head cauliflower

2 carrots

olive oil and salt

After your tofu is pressed, cut it into about 1 1/2″ cubes. Mix the dressing and spices well. Toss in the tofu and let marinate for 3-4 hours (or as long as you’d like but let it absorb the flavor).

Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees. Chop up you cauliflower into large bite size pieces. Peel and cut carrots into large chunks. Add to a pan and toss in olive oil and salt liberally. Roast for about 45 minutes or until cauliflower starts to darken and both vegetables are softer. Remove veggies.

In a toaster oven, or oven, broil marinated tofu for about 6 minutes on each side. (I like mine to get a little crispy but adjust time to suit your preference).

When both dishes are done, serve your self up a large portion and enjoy!

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

3 responses to “Trying new things: balsamic tofu with roasted veggies

  1. sims

    welcome to tofu world! if you love marinating it, next time try it with dash of soy and thai peanut sauce. pan fry, add veg and then toss with noodles (ramen w/o the packet seasoning or rice noodles will do nicely). bon apetit!

  2. Pingback: Ginger tofu with peppers and mushrooms « Foodnook

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
