Roommate Thanksgiving

Our set table

In my mind, Thanksgiving and most holidays are family holidays. Surrounded by the loved ones you’ve grown up around, you gather to enjoy a delicious meal (or in other words, stuff your face 😉 ).

But a family can come in more than one way. My Thanksgiving will be spent with my immediate family but this past weekend, my roommates and I celebrated with our own November feast. They are part of the family of friends that has been created around me as I’ve gotten older. We have our biological family, but also the family we make: the friends we come to care about, laugh with, cry with, and celebrate with. And what better way to celebrate this then with a meal designed for thanks. With that said, one of the many things I’m thankful for this holiday is my friends both here and afar.

Making a Thanksgiving dinner with my roommates was one of the best things we’ve ever done and a way to give a break from the busyness and just eat and enjoy.

And now for the food:

Our plates and bellies were full with garlic herb turkey breast, corn, green beans, apple and cranberry stuffing, sweet potatoes, cranberries, homemade rolls and of course, pumpkin pie. I’ll have some recipes to share over the next week or so both of dishes and leftover creations!

Crafty roommate made these adorable place tags, and they helped dress up our table.

I’m ready for more Thanksgiving celebrations to come, but am glad it was started with our simple but memorable feast.

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

2 responses to “Roommate Thanksgiving

  1. Pingback: Turkey Fun « Foodnook

  2. Pingback: Leftovers on Toast and Oatmeal « Foodnook

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
