In preperation

At the end of this week, I’m driving down to my aunt’s house in Maryland for the Hot Chocolate 15K I’m running in D.C. on Saturday.

I’m really excited and a little nervous for this challenge and am dying to see if my training has helped at all.

Thanksgiving Day run

Like I mentioned before, I’ve been following Hal Higdon’s training plan with some modification: yoga instead of stretch and a switch of Monday and Tuesday run and strength. All has been going well, but as the run’s got longer, it definitely required a big push from my end. This past Saturday I ran between 7-8 miles (I was supposed to run 8 but didn’t track my distance so this is a guesstimate). After runs 6 miles or longer, I tend to feel a little out of it for a while. I’m not really hungry but I know refueling is important.

Hopefully, the tempt of chocolate after Saturday’s race will help me out a little. 😉

This week’s plan:

Monday: 3 mile run and yoga

Tuesday: strength

Wednesday: 3o minutes cross-train

Thursday: 2 mile run and strength

Friday: rest

Saturday: RACE DAY!!!

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
