December Pancakes

Happy December!

Although I’ve already been in the full swing of holiday spirit what with Thanksgiving, seasonal treats, and Michael Buble’s Christmas album on repeat, this month makes it seem more real. Plus, 25 days of Christmas on ABC Family starts, I’m a sucker for both the classics and the really cheesy, silly, border-line chick-flick original movies they play.

Time will fly between now and Christmas but I’m hoping to have time to make lots of baked goods, Christmas cookies included of course, and celebrate little things along the way.

To start off the month, I whipped up these gingerbread pancakes this morning. (Did I mention I’m addicted to gingerbread-flavored things right now?)

While I wanted to devour the whole stack, I shared with the roomies and stashed a few away for later.

Gingerbread Pancakes

adapted from allrecipes

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground dried ginger

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup molasses

1 1/2 cups water

Mix dry ingredients until combined. Stir egg, vanilla, molasses, and water together until smooth and incorporated. Add to dry mixture. Stir until just incorporated.

Measure about 1/4 cups of batter onto a griddle over med to med-high heat. Flip when bubbles form and cook until golden and done. Repeat until all the batter is used.

Enjoy!

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
