Ginger tofu with peppers and mushrooms

I haven’t really posted anything exciting or new foodwise so far this week.

Reasons :

1)I wanted to share my hot chocolate race experience since that was a big event for me

2)Classes ended yesterday and things were/are busy both wrapping up classes and preparing for finals.

But yesterday, after my last class I had time to breathe. Time to exercise for a much needed hour and fifteen minutes. Time to make chocolate pretzel fruit nut bark. Time to catch up on Pan Am. Time to make a delicious dinner. Time to spend with friends.

But back to that delicious dinner. Remember when I first made tofu?

Well, it was such an easy, relatively inexpensive, and healthy dinner that I wanted to try it again. This time I used a soy ginger marinade and sauteed some green peppers and mushrooms for a little asian flair.

(I tried to defrost this cabbage that I had frozen: um it was still soggy and actually refroze after I put it in the refrigerator to marinate…FAIL, but the peppers and mushrooms worked out better).

This was such a light dinner perfect for a season filled with sweets and stress. And leftovers for lunch today = success.

Ginger tofu with peppers and mushrooms

1 package extra firm tofu

2 T soy sauce

1 T ginger (I used powder)

1 T minced garlic

I pepper, cut into strips

1 cup sliced mushrooms (or to your likely)

1 T olive oil, 1 T soy sauce

1 tsp ginger

Drain and press tofu. Cut into squares. Marinate in soy, ginger, and garlic for at least 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place tofu in a baking dish and bake for about 15 minutes. Turn over and bake for additional 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, preheat a pan with olive oil over medium to medium high heat. Saute peppers and mushrooms. About half way through (3 minutes) add soy sauce and ginger. Toss vegetables. Cook until peppers are tender and mushrooms are darkened.

Plate everything up and enjoy!

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
