Nut Filled Oatmeal

In the midst of all this studying I’m doing, I tend to lose track of time and then I wind up really hungry. Now, that doesn’t have a lot to do with breakfast but needed to be said.

not very pretty but delicious!

To try and combat this hungry before it starts I’ve been eating protein filled breakfasts, like omelets (or nom-eltes as in nom nom nom), peanut butter toast or this very nutty oatmeal.

It’s simply oats microwaved (because I’m hungry and impatient in the morning) with almond butter and mostly water but a splash of milk. I used oat groats which are a minimally processed (meaning only the outermost hull is removed) form of oats. They’re supposed to cook longer, but I cheated and they still turned out good.

And then I added these delicious nuts my mom sent me last week, and some dried cherries for a little sweetness.

Seriously, they are addictive morsels of cinnamon spiced almonds, peanuts, cashews, and pecans that I CANNOT get enough of. So I just eat them all the time, as snacks, and on top of things, like my oatmeal.

But back to the oats. This breakfast filled me up all the way to lunchtime (4ish hours) which is pretty hard to do for me, and is one of the most tasty things I had all week.

Nutty Oatmeal

1 cup oat groats (or oatmeal)

A spoonful or two of almond butter (or any other nut butter)

About 1/2 cup of water but adjust to the consistency of oatmeal you like

Splash of milk

1 heaping handful of nuts.

A handful of dried cherries or other dried fruit.

Microwave oats, nut butter, water and milk for about 2 1/2 minutes (or to desired consistency). Top with nuts, fruit and enjoy!

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
