The perils of leftovers

Right now I’m trying to clean out anything perishable in my refrigerator. I’m pretty good at using food before it goes bad but there’s added pressure when you need to finish something by Friday or it gets abandoned (and probably gross) for 2+ weeks. Oh the perils of going home (but not really).

So while I’m keeping healthy stuff on hand, it all kind of jumbles together at dinner time. Lunches are easy, maybe because I can make a salad or sandwich but for dinner I need something a bit more substantial.

Enter eggs. I’ve never been a huge fan of regular old eggs (I can handle them now) but I eventually tried egg whites and discovered I liked them. Egg whites are the perfect medium for combining ingredients together. Omelets, migas (a personal fav), and now a ‘hash’.

I’m not really sure what to call this mix of egg whites, green peppers, spinach sweet potatoes, broccoli and cheese. Maybe a mix between a hash and an omelet.

not the most attractive picture, but yummy none the less

Either way it was delicious. And an easy way to mix up leftovers. With one test down and one final exam left, easy and delicious is what I need. Healthy snacks (yogurt, nuts, hummus, veggies, and cookies :)) are also carrying me through these last few days!

Have a wonderful Wednesday!

pssst. Today is one of my roommate’s birthday!!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY girl!

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
