Molasses Cookies

Right now I could tell you several of the jokes my grandfather tells about molasses.

Ignore the blurriness, it's an old photo and all I got

But I’m not going to. Why? Because even though they are slightly crude (but not crude enough not to tell), I could never do them justice.

So you’re just going to have to do with these cookies.

Speaking of justice, I hope I did these molasses cookies justice by my dad and grandma’s standards. They are a special Christmas favorite of my dad’s, and my grandma’s recipe is the only one we will make anymore.

If not, more for me!

And maybe someday I do you justice by being able to post photos… I’m working on it!

My Grandma’s Molasses Cookies

3/4 cup shortening

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup molasses

1 egg

2 t baking soda

2 cups flour

1/2 t cloves

1/2 t ginger

1 t cinnamon

1/2 t salt

Mix together and chill 1 hour. Roll into 1” balls and dips in sugar. Bake 8-10 minutes at 375 degrees.

Simple (and delicious) as that! Plus your whole house and person will smell like warm winter spice, not such a bad thing.

(Please bear with me as I try and figure out my picture issue!)

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
