A peanut butter tradition

If we didn’t make peanut butter blossoms in our house at Christmas time, I’m not sure what I think would have happened. Come rain or shine, there always present.

For me, there more traditional than sugar cookies. We always have them, maybe because there one of my dad’s favorite, or that everyone enjoys them. Maybe it’s because they’re pretty easy to make. My mom has rolled out these cookies year after year, either just for the family or for cookie exchanges.

I have fond memories of my brother and I helping her roll the dough into little balls and around again in the sugar. Pressing on the Hershey kisses right after the oven. And munching on the cookies before they were cool so the chocolate is still melty. (um actually, that still happens.)

It’s not a fancy cookie and you’ve doubtlessly seen them many places. But I think my family’s peanut butter blossom is the best. No other blossom that I have can compare. I don’t know what the secret is, I don’t think there is one.

Peanut butter blossoms are my ultimate traditional Christmas cookie.

Peanut Butter Blossoms

1 3/4 cup flour

1/2 t salt

1/2 cup brow sugar

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 t baking soda

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup shortening

1 egg

2 T milk

1 t vanilla

48 milk chocolate kisses

Unwrap kisses and place in freezer if possible. This allows for easier assembly.

Mix all together. Roll into balls and roll in sugar. Bake at 375 degrees for 10-12 minutes.

Press kisses onto cookies immediately after pulling out of the oven.

 

What’s your favorite holiday cookie?

 

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
