Only Two more sleeps till Christmas

Know this line from a Muppet’s Christmas Carol? If not, go watch it, it’s a gem.

But seriously, Christmas is just a round the corner, and I am ready. Ready to give gifts, to celebrate with family, to wake up in the morning to a twinkling tree in a still dark room.

To eat Christmas breakfast of hashbrown casserole, bacon, and fruit. To guess and nibble on chocolates from a variety box. To celebrate what Christmas really means.

And share another recipe with you.

Homemade Peppermint Patties

from the Savory Sweet Life

  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 5 1/2 cups powdered sugar, sifted
  • 1 tablespoon peppermint extract
  • 3 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  • 3 tablespoons shortening

Combine milk, 2 cups of powdered sugar and peppermint extract in bowl and mix with a mixer until well combined. Slowly add more powdered sugar (about 1/2 cups at a time) until mixture is tough but still shapeable.

Form into flat disks or whatever shapes you can get them into at this point. I had some trouble with this but food is still food. Freeze for no longer than 1/2 hour.

Meanwhile microwave chocolate in 30 second intervals until melted. Stir in the shortening to loosen up the chocolate a little.

When ready, dip the mint disks into the chocolate until covered. You can use a fork but I used my fingers because I found it to be easier. Place on wax paper and refrigerate until set.

Have a Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays, from my family to yours.

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
