A meal of my favorite things

I didn’t realize until just now as I’m writing this post that my dinner Saturday night was composed of some of my favorite foods. I just remember really enjoying that meal and obviously that is one of the reasons why.

I also seem to have problems eating my favorite foods. Because I love them so much, I have a tendency to save them for when I ‘really’ want them. I want to make them special and not just everyday foods. This is a huge issue with quinoa. It also doesn’t help that it’s not on the shelf of every grocery store out there so I feel like I have to make my supply stretch (or just make ‘special’ trips to Trader Joe’s). I also experimented with it a bit this time and while I love quinoa plain, adding balsamic vinegar is also a nice touch.

Also the eggplant I have in the freezer is so delicious and easy to make (read- heat up) that I could probably eat it for a whole week straight and still not get sick of it, but I do need a little variety in my diet.

And I think I’ve talked about my ever-lasting love for kale already.

So after a long day of shopping on top of a cold, I took a little rest (not quite a nap) and dreamed up this creation. And it was the perfect meal for an excellent day.

Balsamic Quinoa with Kale

3/4 cup of water

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

1/2 cup quinoa

1-2 stems of kale

Bring water and vinegar to a boil together in a pot. Add in quinoa and let simmer until the liquid is absorbed and the quinoa is transparent in the center with a ring on the outside (about 15 minutes).

While quinoa is cooking, heat a dash of olive oil in a small pan on medium heat. Rinse kale and break into medium-sized pieces. Add to pan and keep an eye on it to prevent burning but let it get nice and green. Sprinkle with salt when done.

Serve quinoa with kale on top and any other part of your meal (mine was eggplant patties from Trader Joe’s! but chicken would also be delicious) and enjoy!

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
