Beet and Goat Cheese Flatbread

I think both beets and goat cheese are frequently underrated.

At least by me.

I think I tend to forget about goat cheese because there are so many other delicious cheeses out there. But I recently rediscovered it via a recent salad and have been hooked since.

For a long time, I didn’t think I liked beets. And then I tried them because my mom looooooves them. But they’re kinda fussy, or at least look high-maintenance. So you either have to have a lot of time or need to buy a can. The later isn’t half bad if I can say so.

And the two go wonderfully together. Especially on top of a flatbread garnished with some kale.

Beet and Goat Cheese Flatbread

 

1/2 packet yeast

1/2 cup warm water

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

a pinch of salt

olive oil

minced garlic

1/2 can of beets

Goat cheese (about 2 oz but feel free to add more!)

1/4 cup kale, chopped

Let the yeast sit in water until bubbling. Add to flour and salt and mix by hand. Let rise for about 2 hours.

When ready to make the flatbread, heat oven to 375 degrees and spread out dough onto a baking sheet. Bake for about 15 minutes

Spread olive oil and garlic over flatbread. Top with goat cheese, beets and kale and bake for additional 20 minutes.

 

Enjoy!

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
