A ‘Hot’ Spring Dinner

Yesterday was a scorcher.

I walked outside and immediately regretted not putting sunscreen on….and I only had to walk to class. My workout had me sweating five minutes into it and the rest of the day was no better! (I love a good sweat but it’s tough when you have to rush somewhere right after).

But on a day like yesterday, I combined an easy summer style dinner with springy foods. That is, lemon-pepper chicken with kale and mushroom couscous. Chicken is such a summery dish to me (especially when it’s grilled but sadly no grill here!) and lemon-pepper adds a springy touch. Mushrooms also had a hint of spring and the vibrant leafy greens pulled everything together.

Delicious!

I just marinated my chicken in a mixture of water, a splash of vinegar and  about 1 tsp of lemon-pepper. Later, I baked it at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes (this could vary, my chicken was really thin).

With the kale, I heated a pan with olive oil, tossed the kale in and let it get nice and green. Then I sprinkled it with some pink salt (but any salt will do).

My couscous was from a box (shhhh) that came with the mushroom seasoning but was tasty none the less. In my apartment, water takes forever to boil so our secret for heating water quickly is to heat it in the electric kettle. It takes mearly minutes (and save a dish).

Have a wonderful day!

 

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
