Fall Football Sunday Night Dinner

Okay, so there are a lot of different words in that title but they’re all connected.

After some pretty toasty weather here, yesterday it finally cooled down a bit. I’m talking about mid 70’s so nothing drastic, but the kind of weather where you can enjoy the last remnants of summer. For some reason, our house was a little chilly so walking around in yoga capris and a long sleeve shirt and heating up the oven and stove made a lot of sense. It was cozy and comforting.

And last night was the first regular season Steelers game! Though they lost, my meatball hoagie was the perfect football food (even though I ate it 2 hours before the start of the game- a girl’s gotta eat when a girl’s gotta eat).

On the side, I experimented with broccoli rabe. It’s a vegetable I’ve seen a lot of, but never actually had or made. But when I walked into the grocery store, they were on special, and I can’t refuse a deal. After a little online research, I ended up boiling the rabe for a couple minutes and then sauteing it. And it turned out pretty good. It’s something I definitely want to experiment with and perfect though.

Oh, but the broccoli rabe definitely gave my dinner a “Sunday night” feel. A little bit dressed up, healthy, and reminiscent of sitting around the dinner table with a balanced meal.

Meatball hoagies with broccoli rabe. My fall football Sunday night dinner inspired meal.

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

One response to “Fall Football Sunday Night Dinner

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
