Oktoberfest

Happy Oktoberfest!

Not October yet you say? I’ve always wondered the same thing when local festivals happen or restaurants feature Oktoberfest menus so I did some quick research and found out that it traditionally starts in late September and runs until the first week of October. So it’s all starting to make sense now.

The local festival I went to Saturday still might have been a little premature but was a blast!

One of my roommates is hoping to study abroad in Germany this winter so wanted to check out this cultural event and the festival was just a short drive from our house so we were there in no time and immediately headed to the Bier Garten.

We tried a Hacker-Pschoor Oktoberfest and a Paulaner Pils. Both interesting and I think I’m starting to develop a liking for the deep rich caramely flavors of Oktoberfest type beers. How appropriate huh?

We then checked out the big tent they had set up and ate some delicious soft pretzels while watching some folk dancers! How cool! There were people of all ages from young to old up there showing off their skills in traditional garments which I just thought was so cool .

nice and salty

After watching a couple of dances we decided to grab something more to eat and both had bratwurst and German potato salad. I am definitely not a potato salad fan, primarily because of the mayonnaise but I’ve had German potato salad before and like it so much better.

The way the festival was set up was that you had to buy raffle type tickets and use those as money at the booths and games they had set up. My roommate played one game to try to win a fish but no luck there. After splitting an apple strudel, we decided we were about ready to leave.

It was full of apples and cranberries and raisins… yum!

I still had tons of tickets left and the food was pretty cheap so I ended up buying 3 more soft pretzels and a plum cake to take home. Everything was gone by mid afternoon Sunday so it was worth it.

Plum cake:Such a good treat for later!

The Oktoberfest was so much fun and made for such an entertaining weekend. I was exhausted afterword but had to do some studying after a quick break I got started. Sunday was nice and relaxing with some trips to T.J. Maxx and a local natural foods store (maybe more on that later?) but not as exciting as Saturday!

Have you ever been to an Oktoberfest celebration?

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
