I am…

In my yoga class, we start each practice by writing a small reflection in our journal. Sometimes it’s about the practice of yoga, how we feel, etc.

Yesterday, it was 5 positive adjectives about yourself.

Sometimes it’s too easy to be harsh on ourselves and pick at the negatives. I need to improve at this, I’m bad at this, why can’t I be like this. But there are so many positive things about ourselves that we need to realize and embrace. I often catch myself picking at the negatives and today in class, I thought it a little bit hard to pick out five positives. Not because they aren’t there, but because we don’t often give ourselves the recognition we deserve.

I feel like that was the point of the exercise and was good for me to take a step back and reflect. After a relaxing weekend, it was a great fresh start to the week.

My five

Strong

Intelligent

Kind

Generous

Capable

The next part of the exercise was to pick out our two favorite and make them into our mantra.

I am strong. I am kind.

These adjectives were part of the intention I set for my practice yesterday and I left feeling just that, strong and kind.

I also left with the intention to remember the positives especially when the negatives seem overwhelming.

What are a couple positives? Do you ever focus on the negatives?

 

 

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
