Double Red Donation and Turkey Chili

Last night, I had scheduled an appointment to donate blood at my school’s blood drive. I always look forward to donating blood because I feel like it’s a simple thing I can do to give back and help others. It’s also relatively simple and I can have a special treat (like chips!) afterwards that I normally wouldn’t buy.

I also had planned on making some pumpkin turkey chili afterwards because you’re supposed to eat a hearty meals after and I figured this would be a good replenishment for my body.

While I was waiting for my screening, one of the volunteers was asking two guys sitting in front of me if they wanted to do a double red cell donation. I’m an O+ blood type which is what they were looking for and I quickly looked at a poster with the rest of the requirements. I met them so I volunteered myself for a double red donation.

Basically what happens is that a machine draws out the blood and separates the red blood cells from the plasma/platelets/white bloods cells which are then replaced into the boy. Here’s more information from the Red Cross.

This was my first time doing a double donation (not a regular donation) and I actually really enjoyed the process. I definitely got some chills when the blood reentered my body but other than that felt fine.

I got home and quickly browned some turkey, peppers, and onions in a pot on the stove. Once cooked, I added a can of tomatoes,  about a cup of pumpkin, pinto beans, green chilies, oregano, a dash of cinnamon, and red pepper flakes. I let this simmer for about 30 minutes, then dished it out and topped with some sweet potato tortilla chips. A delicious and hearty meal to treat myself too.

The rest of my night was spent snacking and watching Modern Family and Nashville before getting some much needed zzzz’s.
A little bit of tiredness is worth the donation though!

Have a great day!

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

One response to “Double Red Donation and Turkey Chili

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
