Turkey Trot Part 1

Hey everyone!

I hope you had a fantastic weekend. Mine was relaxing and fun- a perfect combination.

I ran a Turkey Trot 5k on Saturday- I’m calling this Part 1 because I’m doing another on Thursday.

Last year, I ran the 10k version of this but decided to scale it back this year. In retrospect, I’m so glad I did. I was still pretty worn out from giving blood. I went to do a short run on Friday- 2 miles- and could barely run a mile before stopping.

sunny shadows pre-race

My plan for Saturday was to just take the race according to how I felt. I started out a pace that felt good, running along side my friend who had also signed up. However, I got to a point where I felt I could push it a little and started to run a bit faster. I did okay for about the first mile and then needed a short walking break. Once I felt my heart rate lower again, I would run slowly at first. I think my biggest problem was that every time I started to run I just wanted to push myself more and more and then would end up winded. I took about 2 more walking breaks over the course of the race and still ended up with about a 9:24 pace- not bad but not close to what I was running before that.

exhausted!

As frustrated as I was, I realized it was completely out of my control. I did something good, that will benefit someone’s life and I wouldn’t change that for one little race. My body will be back to normal soon and I’m glad that I was able to run and listen to my body and respond to its needs.

finishers!

Oh and my after race treat? Pizza, beer, and a mini blizzard- not a bad combo!

I’m excited for my upcoming race this week too and have a better idea of what to expect from my body.

Have a great day!

Any exciting Thanksgiving Day workout plans for you?

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

2 responses to “Turkey Trot Part 1

  1. That turkey trot run sounds like fun! If only I liked running… Haha. But seriously, I think all of these “themed” 5ks would be much better than the ole boring one that I ran a while ago. Especially the color runs. Those sound so cool!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
