A new favorite sweet potato recipe

When my Thanksgiving plans were finalized, I got to start brainstorming recipes.

I like to stick the traditionals but also enjoy spicing up meals for holidays. Changing things around or trying something new in order to make it healthier or incorporate different ingredients.

When stumbling around on the Barefoot Wines website in their recipe section, I happened upon a recipe for sweet potatoes and Moscato wine. It looked interesting and easy to make.

IMG_0396

It didn’t disappoint. I was actually in love with these sweet potatoes and ate them for the rest of my time at home. I used them to top salads and even picked at them from time to time (whoops :)).

IMG_0379

If you’re looking for a fun and easy new dish to try this holiday season, I highly recommend this. The potatoes were sweet but also kept their flavor and had enough spice to them to make them a savory side dish.

I am in no way associated with the Barefoot brand. I merely found this recipe on their website and decidedto try it.

Moscato glazed sweet potatoes

(adapted from Barefoot wines)

3 Lbs diced sweet potatoes

1/2 cup honey

3 T fresh grated ginger or sub. appropriate amount ground

2 T nut oil ( I used macadamia because that’s what we had, but even olive would be fine)

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

1/2 cup Moscato wine

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. In a large glass baking dish, toss together all ingredients, and bake for 20 minutes. Stir the potato mixture turning the pieces to ensure even cooking and continue baking another 20 minutes or until the potatoes are tender when pierced with a fork and nice and caramelized on the outside.

About Kristina

I'm a college student who's a self-proclaimed foodie, book lover, and exerciser. Balancing life, school, exercise, and my hobbies isn't easy but I'm making it work and trying to live healthy along the way.

One response to “A new favorite sweet potato recipe

  1. Pingback: Three Things I’m Loving « Foodnook

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome to FoodNook!

Hi! I'm Kristina and a college student who loves food, eating, fitness, and variety of other fun things! I have a combined love of food and fitness and trying to balance it all into my busy life. FoodNook is my way of documenting my experiences and adventures in navigating healthy living on my own and trying out new things.
